Horses with ‘human inspired’ names most likely to win Grand National

  • Human named horses have won 11 out of the 71 races since 1950
  • Landmarks (8), Turn-of-phrase (7) and French-language inspired (5) named horses close behind
  • Galvin & Run Wild Fred  – named after people – red hot favourites at 2022 Aintree event
  • Avoid Horses with names relating to animals, colours, food, planets, TV shows, and pirates with only one winner each in 71 years

Ahead of this year’s first spectator-packed Grand National since the Pandemic, here at Casumo, we analysed the names of every previous winner and discovered horses with human names are most likely to triumph with 11 winners since 1950.

In 2019, more than 600 million people tuned in to watch the world’s most exciting Steeple Chase with a whopping £100 million spent by punters hoping their bet would beat the bookies.  

Punters looking for a 2022 winner should take note with ‘Galvin’ and ‘Run Wild Fred’, both named after people, red hot favourites to claim victory in this year’s race.

Those after an each-way bet should study the form for horses named after landmarks, such as ‘Mount Ida’, with 8 winners in 71 years while bettors prepared to take a risk and potentially win big should look at those named after animals or colours such as ‘Phoenix Way’ or ‘Snow Leopardess’, but beware these nags have only won once since 1950!

If you like to place your wager based on which names take your fancy, then this year’s horses most likely to take the crown are:

Human Inspired 

Run Wild Fred (14/1)

Galvin (20/1)

Enjoy D’Allen (25/1)

Good Boy Bobby (33/1)

Chris’s Dream (50/1)

Top Ville Ben (66/1)

Freewheelin Dylan (100/1)

Larry (100/1)

Pink Eyed Pedro (100/1)


Escaria Ten (16/1)

Longhouse Poet (25/1)

Discorama (33/1)

Cloth Cap (40/1)

Delta Work (66/1)


Mount Ida (16/1)

Highland Hunter (33/1)

Windsor Avenue (33/1)

Coko Beach (33/1)

Chantry House (66/1)

Turn-of phrase

Any Second Now (14/1)

Lostintranslation (33/1)

Ontheropes (40/1)

Two for Gold (50/1)


Franco de Port (33/1)

Lord du Mesnil (50/1)

Domaine de L’Isle (66/1)

Defi Bleu (66/1)

Alpha des Obeaux (100/1)

We’ve examined every winner of the infamous race from the past 71 years and placed each equine star into categories to demonstrate which naming trends produce the most first-place winners. Categories include horses named after a person, place, alcoholic drink, or names with French language roots.

The top 5 categories since 1950 are 

  1. Inspired by human names (11 winners)
  2. ‘Out of the box’ names (9 winners)
  3. Places/landmarks (8 winners) 
  4. Turn-of-phrase (7 winners)
  5. French-inspired (5 winners)


Year Winner Age wgt Trainer Jockey SP
2017 One For Arthur 8 10-11 Lucinda Russell Derek Fox 14/1
2011 Ballabriggs 10 11-00 D McCain J Maguire 14/1
1999 Bobbyjo 9 10-00 T Carberry P Carberry 10/1
1997 Lord Gyllene 9 10-00 S A Brookshaw A Dobbin 14/1
1990 Mr Frisk 11 10-06 K C Bailey Mr M Armytage 16/1
1981 Aldaniti 11 10-13 J Gifford R Champion 10/1
1978 Lucius 9 10-09 G W Richards B R Davies 14/1
1965 Jay Trump 8 11-05 F Winter T Smith 100/6
1961 Nicolaus Silver 9 10-01 F Rimell B Beasley 28/1
1960 Merryman II 9 10-12 N Crump G Scott 13/2F
1958 Mr. What 8 10-06 T Taaffe, Sr A Freeman 18/1

Horses with ‘human inspired’ names, such as 2017’s ‘One for Arthur’, have bagged a total of 11 wins in the last 71 years. Other winners in this category include ‘Ballabriggs’ in 2011 and ‘Bobbyjo’ in 1999.

If you’re all about the name trend then this year, you could place your bets on the likes of ‘Chris’s Dream’ taking gold in 2022’s race. 

Out of the Box

Year Winner Age wgt Trainer Jockey SP
2006 Numbersixvalverde 10 10-08 M Brassil N P Madden 11/1
1994 Miinnehoma 11 10-08 M C Pipe R Dunwoody 16/1
1982 Grittar 9 11-05 F Gilman Mr R Saunders 7/1F
1979 Rubstic 10 10-00 S J Leadbetter M Barnes 25/1
1970 Gay Trip 8 11-05 T F Rimell P Taaffe 15/1
1966 Anglo 8 10-0 F Winter T Norman 50/1
1964 Team Spirit 12 10-03 F Walwyn W Robinson 18/1
1956 ESB 10 11-03 F Rimell D Dick 100/7
1955 Quare Times 9 11-00 V O’Brien P Taaffe 100/9

The second most popular category when looking at previous Grand National winners are horses with out of the box names, with a total of nine horses crossing the winning post first.

Most recently, ‘Numbersixvalverde’ was crowned champion in 2006 with a 50-year gap in between with winners also in 1955 and 1956 – Quare Time and ESB. 

If names that are ‘outside the box’ are your forte, you can expect to bet on ‘Farclas’ or ‘Cloth Cap’ in this year’s racing line-up.


Year Winner Age wgt Trainer Jockey SP
2004 Amberleigh House 12 10-10 D McCain G Lee 16/1
2003 Monty´s Pass 10 10-07 JJ Mangan B J Geraghty 16/1
1983 Corbiere 8 11-04 Mrs J Pitman B de Haan 13/1
1980 Ben Nevis 12 10-12 T Forster Mr C Fenwick 40/1
1969 Highland Wedding 12 10-04 T Balding E Harty 100/9
1967 Foinavon 9 10-0 J Kempton J Buckingham 100/1
1963 Ayala 9 10-00 K Piggott P Buckley 66/1
1962 Kilmore 12 10-04 R Price F Winter 28/1

Finally, horses with place-related names round off the top 3 categories of Grand National winners, with eight horses claiming the top spot over the years. Most recently, in 2003 and 2004, Monty´s Pass and Amberleigh House claimed victory, making that two consecutive wins for ‘place’ names. 

With the likes of ‘Mount Ida’, ‘Highland Hunter’, and ‘Windsor Avenue’ competing in this year’s race – betting on horses named after landmarks or cities might well get you the win you’re looking for.  

However, there are some categories that don’t often produce podium winners, so if you are predicting who will take the glory this year, you may choose to avoid them.

Horses with names relating to animals, colours, food, planets, TV shows, and pirates are off the mark, with only one winner each from the last 71 years.

Last year’s winner, ‘Minella Times’ was the first horse with an Italian-inspired name to win this pinnacle event in the racing calendar but with ‘Santini’ also appearing in this year’s line-up, could it be 2 from 2 for the Italian stallions?

Casino offer

100% bonus up to £25 and 20 Bonus Spins

Sign up

18+. New UK customers only. Opt-in required. 20 Bonus Spins on “Sahara Riches Cash Collect” and 100% Deposit Bonus up to £25 on first deposit. Min. deposit £10. 30x wagering requirement for Bonus Spins and Deposit Bonus (game weighting applies). Max. £5/spin or £0.50/line or £10/round (Live Casino). 30 days expiry. Payment method exclusions apply. Play responsibly • • T&Cs apply